Skip to content

Hayden Buckley aces No. 17 at TPC Sawgrass during the 2023 Players Championship

The opening round of the Players Championship started off with fireworks Thursday: PGA Tour pro Hayden Buckley converted a hole-in-on on the iconic island green at TPC Sawgrass.

With the front-hole location for Thursday’s round, Buckley opted for a pitching wedge. Off the tee, his shot came out at 106 miles per hour and lofted to an apex of 81 feet, before it fell on the green, about 20 feet past the hole and slightly to the right. The ball bounced and caught a slope, allowing it to carry enough pace to roll into the cup.

Buckley, who started the opening round of the Players Championship on the back-nine and was part of the second group to reach No. 17 Thursday, took off jogging in celebration and threw his cap into the air. He high-fived the other golfers and caddies in his group and tossed his club in jubilation.

STAY UP-TO-DATE: Subscribe to our Sports newsletter now!

Hayden Buckley celebrates making a hole-in-one on the 17th hole during the first round of The Players Championship at TPC Sawgrass.

This marks only the 10th time since 1991 that a PGA Tour pro has converted a hole-in-one at No. 17 during the Players Championship.

Who is Hayden Buckley?

Buckley, 27, is currently ranked 27th in the FedEx Cup Standings. He has never won a PGA Tour event, although he has two top-10 placements in 2022-23. He went pro in 2018 and is a former walk-on at Missouri. His best career finish came in January at the Sony Open in Hawaii, when he was runner up to eventual winner Si Woo Kim.

Since then, Buckley has missed his last three cuts. He is currently ranked 107th in the Official World Golf Rankings.

Who else has aced the iconic 17th at TPC Sawgrass?

Since 1991, only 10 players have aced the par-3 No. 17 at the Players Championship at TPC Sawgrass in Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida.

2023: Hayden Buckley, 1st round

2022: Shane Lowry3rd round

2019: Ryan Moore1st round

2017: Sergio García1st round

2016: Willy Wilcox2nd round

2002: Miguel Angel Jimenez1st round

2000: Paul Azinger3rd round

1999: Joey Sindelar1st round

1997: Fred Couplesfinal round

1991: Brian Clare3rd round

Contributing: Adam Schupak, Golfweek

This article originally appeared on USA TODAY: Hayden Buckley aces No. 17 island green at Players Championship 2023

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *